Privacy Policy

 

© 2016-2021 by Olga Tsubiks

Search

How to save Tableau Public workbooks privately on your computer


Want to save your Tableau Public workbooks privately on your computer? If you've downloaded Tableau Public, you might have been disappointed when trying to save your work - it seems that the only option available is saving it to Tableau Public Gallery.

That’s is great, but in some cases, you might not want your work to be publicly visible and searchable on the internet. You might be working on a private data set, or you simply might not want to share your work. Don't despair! In this short article I want to share with you how you can quickly save work created in Tableau Public privately.

When you first create a Tableau Public profile, you will see something like this:

Before you upload any work, go to your settings.

Be sure to select "Allow viz data to be downloaded" and "Set my vizzes to hidden". This will prevent your work from being publicly visible on your profile (you can change this setting individually for each workbook later). Name it something like "1q2a3z4w5s6x7e8d9c", and don't provide a description, to prevent it from showing up in search results.

Then, using the Tableau Public desktop application, save your workbook to the Gallery by selecting File > Save to Tableau Public. Name your workbook and click Save. Once saved, it will show up in your profile with a little crossed-eye icon. Like this:

You can double check to make sure this data visualization isn't visible on your profile by selecting "View profile as Others" at the top right corner of the page.

Now you can download your workbook. Click on the data visualization to open it. Tableau Public allows you to download it on your computer as Tableau Workbook (TWBX), PDF, Crosstab, Data and Image. Just hover over the download button at the bottom right corner.

Downloading as Tableau Workbook saves your work in TWBX format - the same format as the paid Tableau Desktop version would.

This allows you to open and edit the workbook at a later date in Tableau Public. You can also send your Tableau workbook to someone else. They can then open the file with Tableau Public or Tableau Reader.

You can leave it in Tableau Public if you’re happy with this. But if you aren't planning to edit the workbook in the future, and since you already have a TWBX, you can simply delete your workbook from Tableau Public. This removes it from Tableau’s servers.

Another important option is sharing. Even if your workbook is marked as hidden on your Tableau Public profile, you are still able to embed it on your website (for example, your company’s internal website). Simply click the Share button and copy the Embed Code.

You can modify settings to remove your Tableau Public profile link as well as the ability of users to download your data and Tableau workbook, by clicking "Edit Details". Here is an example of an embedded workbook:

As you can see, contrary to popular belief you CAN save workbooks created in Tableau Public locally on your computer, and you don't have to share your work with the world!

Did you find this article helpful? Sign up below to receive other Tableau tips and tricks!

#saveTableauPubliclocally #TableauPublic